Reconnections: recovering older alienated children: A Zoom Seminar with karen woodall

Tuesday 8 December 2020

16:00 – 18:30 GMT – London

11:00 – 13:30 EST  – New York

11:00 – 13:30 EST  – Toronto

08:00 – 10:30 PST – Los Angeles

08:00 – 10:30 PST – Vancouver

17:00 – 19:30 CET – Western Europe

19:00 – 21:30 MSK – Moscow

18:00 – 20:30 IST – Tel Aviv

10:00 – 12:30 CST – Mexico City

18:00 – 20:30 SAST Johannesburg

03:00 – 05:30 AEDT (9 December) – Sydney

If your time zone is not listed above, you can check your local start time here (just enter your city in the blue box):

Time Zone Converter

Many parents find that they are unable to reconnect with their children through the court process. This can leave older children, in particular, without any effective help to support reunification with their parents. Whilst many older children find their way home eventually, they do so with a hidden problem which continues to affect their relationships with family and friends.

This hidden problem is the defence of psychological splitting, which is a pernicious defence that remains active in many children, long after they have reunited with a parent. This is because, without intervention, the adult child is not aware of the defence, leaving relationships with others feeling distant and disconnected.

Working on the principle that the rejected parent holds the split off and denied aspect of self that is necessary to give a sense of integration, this seminar is for parents of older children. It is focused upon therapeutic parenting skills and understanding of the way that the defence operates in children. Working with the principles of assisting children with disorganised attachments, this seminar will walk you through the key skills of therapeutic parenting which are adapted for this group of children.

Using letter writing, social media and creation of communications strategies, this seminar will also help you to build a consistent strategy of therapeutic parenting presence. Building confidence in understanding and responding to the older alienated child, the seminar will equip you to understand what to do and say in particular circumstances.

We look forward to you joining us.


IMPORTANT:

  • This webinar will be held on Zoom.
  • To gain access, you must provide a valid email address along with your name and PayPal order reference number (you will receive this by email from PayPal after you have made payment).

Book here

Please Note:This seminar will be recorded and will be made available to everyone after the event, so if your time zone prevents you from joining us live, please book as normal and you will receive the link to the recording shortly afterwards.

7 comments

    1. Dear Cinderalla, I will endeavour to find someone to do that, if I cannot, I will produce a transcript from the Zoom recording so that you can read it. Kind Regards Karen

      Like

  1. The timing of this email is perfect…and I believe divine intervention. Below is a text I received from my youngest of 4 daughters, who is 19 on November 5, I sent her a text to celebrate a victory her football team had Monday night. My reply is also below. I am deeply wounded, but will press on.

    Thank you, Dr. Woodall for your continued work and for providing deeply wounded parents some form of hope.

    I finally have my happily ever after and you’re not part of it. Stop getting a new phone number so you can contact me. You have no right by the state of Nebraska since I have denied you since I was 15 years old which I have permission to do in the state of Nebraska with the divorce rights. I already have a dad that doesn’t give me nightmares every night and you’re not him. My dad loves me and never yells at me no matter what and doesn’t force me to be a proper lady. He loves me for me and wouldn’t change a thing. He loves my short hair, he loves my sass, he loves me for being bisexual, he doesn’t buy me things to make up for leaving, he never leaves without giving us a kiss and saying “I love you, see you tomorrow”, he gave me a little sister that I love without a doubt, he gave me peace and happiness. All those things are not you because I am not describing you. I am describing the dream dad I always wanted and he is real. And it is not you and never will be.

    xxxxxx, first of all, I am happy that your mom’s new husband treats you well and loves you. That is very welcome and I am grateful for it.

    The rest…I can start with “
    Getting a new phone number so you can contact me” all the way through the bottom is filled with distorted perceptions. Untruths and fabrications. None of what you portray infer or say regarding me, my actions, my responsibilities are true at all. I continue to pray for you, your mom, your sister’s, but it is in God’s hands, not mine. I’ve done nothing but contact any of you, for years, with nothing but support and love. Christ will continue to strengthen me. I love you and that will not change. With love, Daddy.

    Like

    1. Dear Michael, I am sorry to read this text from your daughter, it reads like so many others, idealised views which are projected onto someone, it is a difficult defence to overcome alone, your input, whilst rejected by your daughter, is essential to provide for her the balancing of that idealising tendency.

      I have edited your comment to protect your daughter’s identity, we will be looking at working with projections in the seminar on the 8th December. I will help to provide ideas about how to absorb the split projection and reflect back a whole picture of the self – you have begun to do some of this in your reply, I will help you to see how to do more of it.

      Kind Regards

      Karen

      Like

  2. I would like to see some of the zoom seminars but I don’t see how? A link ? It mentions paying for seminars on PayPal but don’t see how much or how to do this. I have 4 alienated children 27, 23, 20 and 16. 6 year This has been going on after a 23 year marriage to a physician. Need help with getting my relationship with my children back. Please contact me with how to connect to the zooms seminars and what they cost. Thank you, Jennifer. jennifertheeke@gmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s